中文
All Agent Engineering

Skill

security-best-practices: language- and framework-specific security review

Official OpenAI Codex skill: load security references matching the project's language and framework, then write safer code or a report; not tested.

This is a Codex skill in the curated folder of the openai/skills repository. It first works out which languages and frameworks the project uses, then loads the matching documents from its references folder to write safer-by-default code, flag major issues along the way, or produce a severity-ranked security report when you ask. This page follows the official files, is not tested, and should be checked against the originals before use.

Verified
· Not tested by us
Applies to
How to invoke
No official command

No fixed invocation command stated officially (unknown); the known trigger is the user explicitly asking for security guidance, review or a report (SKILL.md description), and agents/openai.yaml carries a default prompt[2][1][6]

Install
No official command

No official install command; the README gives a verbatim example only for gh-address-comments, and install-by-name is general guidance, restart Codex afterwards[4]

Prerequisites
  • Account Not stated officially[2]
  • CLI Not stated officially; the skill folder has no scripts[2][1]
  • Permissions Writes a markdown file for reports; may search online without local guidance[2]
  • Cost Not stated officially[2]
Checked revision
49f948f
Tools

When to use

  • You explicitly ask for security guidance, a security review or report, or want secure-by-default code.[2]
  • The project uses Python, JavaScript/TypeScript or Go.[2]

When not to use

  • General code review, debugging or non-security tasks; the official text says not to trigger for these.[2]
  • Languages outside Python, JavaScript/TypeScript and Go; the official text says to trigger only for supported languages.[2]

How it works and its three modes

SKILL.md says to identify all languages and main frameworks in the project, frontend and backend alike, then look in the references folder for matching documents named <language>-<framework>-<stack>-security.md, reading every file that applies.[2]

  • Primary mode: write new code in a secure-by-default way from then on.
  • Secondary mode: passively spot the highest-impact problems while coding and tell you.
  • Report mode: when you ask, produce a report split by severity and urgency, then offer to start fixes.

[2]

The references folder currently lists files for Go, Express, jQuery, Next.js, React, Vue, Django, FastAPI and Flask, among others.[5]

When no references file matches, SKILL.md has the model fall back on the security practices it knows and, if needed, search online; a report must tell you that concrete guidance is missing.[2]

Dependencies and prerequisites

Dependency overview
CategoryWhat the official files say
AccountNot stated officially
CLINot stated officially; the skill itself ships no scripts
PermissionWhen a report is requested it writes a markdown report file, in a location you can choose; it may search online when no local guidance exists
CostNot stated officially

[2][1]

The official text also asks that fixes handle one finding at a time and follow your existing commit and test flow, to avoid regressions.[2]

Install, license and repository status

No install command is stated officially for this skill. The README gives a verbatim example only for a different skill, gh-address-comments, and says curated skills can be installed by name with $skill-installer inside Codex, then Codex must be restarted; this is general guidance and is not treated as this skill's official command.[4]

LICENSE.txt in the skill folder contains the complete Apache License 2.0 terms (201 lines).[3]

The README says each skill's license is the LICENSE.txt in its own folder.[4]

The folder listing at the pinned revision shows only LICENSE.txt, SKILL.md, agents and references; there is no NOTICE file and no scripts folder.[1]

The README opens with a notice that the repository is deprecated and points to the OpenAI Plugins repository. This page follows the pinned revision; whether the skill moves or changes later is to be confirmed.[4]

Sources

All links are official pages; verification dates are listed per source, and links point to the version checked.

  1. OpenAI · security-best-practices
    49f948f
  2. OpenAI · SKILL.md
    49f948f
  3. OpenAI · LICENSE.txt
    49f948f
  4. OpenAI · README.md
    49f948f
  5. OpenAI · references
    49f948f
  6. OpenAI · agents/openai.yaml
    49f948f

Found an error? Tell us →